Ninjutsu is a system of self-defense designed for the protection of those close to you. There is no competition in ninjutsu. Therefore, the training is conducted in a friendly nonthreating atmosphere. When you first begin, you will spend a lot of time training the basics which include falling, throwing, breakfalls, striking, blocking techniques, etc. Once you are firmly grounded in the basics, you will then start applying them in more advanced techniques and with weapons.

When you begin, you will start with a white belt (10th Kyu). You will then proceed through the different kyu grades until your blackbelt.

Ninth through first kyu wear a green belt. Grading for the Bujinkan Dojo Jamestown will be conducted by Stan Skrabut who possesses a eigth degree blackbelt in the Bujinkan system and also holds a teaching certificate from Japan. Your diplomas for grade recognition will actually come from Japan and be signed by the grandmaster. These diplomas are recognized throughout the world by Bujinkan Dojo’s and instructors.

The Bujinkan Dojo International is comprised of nine different schools:
Togakure Ryu Ninjutsu
Gyokko Ryu Koshijutsu
Kukishinden Ryu Happo Hikenjutsu
Shinden Fudo Ryu Dakentaijutsu
Gyokushin Ryu Ninpo
Koto Ryu Koppojutsu
Gikan Ryu Koppojutsu
Takagi Yoshin Ryu Jutaijutsu
Kumogakure Ryu Ninpo

Within these nine schools you can find eighteen traditional topics of study; they include:
Taijutsu – unarmed fighting
Ninja Ken – ninja sword
Bojutsu – long and short stick fighting
Shurikenjutsu – throwing weapons
Yarijutsu – spear fighting
Naginatajutsu – halberd fighting
Kusari Gama – chain and sickle
Hensojutsu – disguises
Shinobi iri – stealth and infiltration techniques
Sui ren – water training
Bo ryaku – strategy
Cho ho – espionage
Intonjutsu – escape and evasion
Tenmon – meteorology
Chimon – geography

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.